on eating

by livergirl


I am in love with Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution! I always love his cooking shows, although my mom said that she probably wouldn’t eat his meals because he cooks with bare hands. Anyway, it’s just really a pity that in some places, eating junks and frozen foods has already became a deeply-rooted culture that even after Super Size Me, they still eat junks on a regular basis.

I know it is hard to eat like an Amish but it wouldn’t hurt to add a portion of veggies (as in real veggies not ‘what cost the same as veggies’).

It’s not like I don’t eat junk foods at all. I mean, I eat them when I’m under stress and when the other stalls are already closed. And maybe I’ll eat them in a few weeks because CNY is coming up. And I hadn’t eat chicken nugget in a really long time. And I don’t eat instant noodles when I’m in SG. I try hard to resist soda and over-sweetened tea (although I’m having a bottle of peach tea in my fridge…hiks). I eat veggies every day and eat fish instead of pork (and that’s quite hard, you know, cause pork is generally cheaper and tastier than fish).

But I know it takes a whole lot more than what I’m doing. I’m still drinking, and drinking coffee. And I can’t resist german pork dishes. And nice dark chocolate. Waw it’s a longer way than I thought before.

It got me thinking that maybe in the future when I have kids, I need to be a housewife so my children wouldn’t even think of chicken nuggets. Maybe I will ban junk foods until they finish elementary. Unless of course, it’s me who give it to them. In the meantime I’m building myself towards a healthier life.

Back to the TV show, although I’m a supporter of The Biggest Loser, when I think about it, it’s kind of pity when a competition and money prize is necessary as an additional motivation for health. Hopefully they all are doing it for the right cause.

.

19 Do you not know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; 20 you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your bodies.