curiosity kills the cat

by livergirl


This morning when I was in church choir practice, I started thinking about some things that I often observed:

  • Why we tend to go sharp while singing? I realize that usually happens because of nervousness, but I found that it also happened today when we were singing acapella, without anyone watching us…so how could we be nervous?
  • And do we tend to go sharp also while we’re singing alone?
  • Why we tend to play faster when we’re the beat keeper?
  • And somehow I observed that playing solo percussion will make me tend do go slower…does it happen to everyone?
  • Why we tend to play slower when we’re playing the melody?
  • Why is it so hard to keep it soft while playing together? Is it because we wanted to ‘beat’ each other so that we’ll play louder and louder?
  • How come we really can change the way we project our voice just by imagining it in our heads?

.

Those might be really interesting to find out. Isn’t it amazing how our brain’s been playing tricks on us?