what makes a blogger?

by livergirl


There are lots of people having blogs, since it’s so easy to make one, including my friends. But somehow it’s quite rare for me to find a blog that is active and, you know, look like a blog.

According to wordnetweb.princeton.edu/perl/webwn, a web log is a shared on-line journal where people can post diary entries about their personal experiences and hobbies; “postings on a blog are usually in chronological order”. And according to philip.greenspun.com/seia/glossary, a blog is an online journal, published frequently (often daily). Readers can post comments on each journal entry. Some blogs gain a wide readership, such as this one: http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/philg/. The term blog is a shortening of weblog.

Let’s clear something first. What I mean by a blog here is not an informational blog from an organization or something. What I mean here is a personal blog, created by someone for sharing his/her daily life, ideas, and opinions.

When I look at the links of my friends’ blogs that I put in my page’s sidebar, you can actually count the active ones with your fingers. Some are just never been updated in ages, some were updated once a semester, some contained just the first few posts (and nothing more). And I’ve seen blogs that contain only song lyrics. And a lot of blogs which the blogger only post when he/she is in mellow mode or whatever.

I don’t want to judge. I just want to explore the question I put on the title. Is it related to personality? Is it related to introvert vs extrovert? Thinking vs feeling? (just got OB lecture yesterday) Does it take an anti-social person to blog actively? Or maybe a melancholic person? Or is it just random?

For me personally, I feel that I’m not really comfortable to share my life with people. But somehow, I love blogging. I love sharing my life this way, where I have to filter the things I wanted to say and I have to make a decent structure of my story.

Yeah, so back to the question: what makes a blogger?